Contenuto disponibile in Italiano

European Commission: 17 inter-university alliances established. Towards a European Education Area

(Brussels) A major step has been taken towards the creation a European Education Area with the establishment of 17 transnational university alliances involving 114 higher education institutions from 24 Member States which share “a long-term strategy” and “promote European values and identity”. Some alliances are interdisciplinary while others focus, for example, on urban coastal sustainability, social sciences or health. The European Commission has allocated up to €5 million to each alliance over the next three years, to start implementing their plans: the allied Universities will become inter-university campuses around which students, doctoral candidates, staff and researchers can move seamlessly, sharing expertise, platforms and resources to provide flexible interdisciplinary curricula. This will allow students to “personalise their education”, choosing what, where and when to study and get a European degree. “I am convinced that this initiative, a key building block of the European Education Area, will be a real game changer for higher education in Europe, boosting excellence and inclusion”, said Commissioner for Education Tibor Navracsics (pictured). In October, the Commission is expected to launch a second call for proposals for the creation of further alliances. For the 2021-2027 period, the Commission proposed to roll out the initiative under Erasmus+ with a view to establishing a European Education Area by 2025.

© Riproduzione Riservata


Quotidiano - Italiano


Informativa sulla Privacy